Linda's Picks

Check out some of Linda's favorite books below!

The Night Watchman: A Novel By Louise Erdrich Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780062671196
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - March 23rd, 2021

WINNER OF THE 2021 PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WASHINGTON POST, NPR, CBS SUNDAY MORNING, KIRKUS, CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY, AND GOOD HOUSEKEEPING BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR


The Secrets We Kept: A novel By Lara Prescott Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780525566106
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - June 30th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A thrilling tale of secretaries turned spies, of love and duty, and of sacrifice—inspired by the true story of the CIA plot to infiltrate the hearts and minds of Soviet Russia, not with propaganda, but with the greatest love story of the twentieth century: Doctor Zhivago • A HELLO SUNSHINE x REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB PICK


Lady in the Lake: A Novel By Laura Lippman Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062390028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - June 23rd, 2020

SOON TO BE A SERIES FROM APPLE TV!

A New York Times Bestseller


A Gentleman in Moscow: A Novel By Amor Towles Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143110439
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - March 26th, 2019

The mega-bestseller with more than 2 million readers, soon to be a Showtime/Paramount series starring Ewan McGregor as Count Alexander Rostov


Magpie Murders: A Novel By Anthony Horowitz Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780062645234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - March 27th, 2018

Don’t miss Magpie Murders on PBS's MASTERPIECE Mystery!

"A double puzzle for puzzle fans, who don’t often get the classicism they want from contemporary thrillers." —Janet Maslin, New York Times


The King's Justice: A Maggie Hope Mystery By Susan Elia MacNeal Cover Image
$27.00
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780399593840
Published: Bantam - February 25th, 2020

Can a stolen violin lead secret agent and spy Maggie Hope to a serial killer terrorizing London? Find out as the acclaimed World War II mystery series from New York Times bestselling author Susan Elia MacNeal continues.

“A wartime mystery to sink your teeth into.”—Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Huntress


The American Agent: A Maisie Dobbs Novel By Jacqueline Winspear Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062436672
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - March 24th, 2020

Beloved heroine Maisie Dobbs, “one of the great fictional heroines” (Parade), investigates the mysterious murder of an American war correspondent in London during the Blitz in a page-turning tale of love and war, terror and survival.

When Catherine Saxon, an American correspondent reporting on the war in Europe, is found murdered in her London digs, news of her dea


Trace Elements: A Comissario Guido Brunetti Mystery By Donna Leon Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802148674
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - March 3rd, 2020

From the New York Times bestselling author of Unto Us a Son is Given, comes one of her most dark and thrilling mysteries yet.

A woman's cryptic dying words in a Venetian hospice lead Guido Brunetti to uncover a threat to the entire region in Donna Leon's haunting twenty-ninth Brunetti novel.


Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk: A Novel By Kathleen Rooney Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250151162
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - April 3rd, 2018

NOW A NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER

A love letter to city life in all its guts and grandeur, Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney paints a portrait of a remarkable woman across the canvas of a changing America: from the Jazz Age to the onset of the AIDS epidemic; the Great Depression to the birth of hip-hop.


Three-Martini Lunch By Suzanne Rindell Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399574771
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 8th, 2017

From the author of the “thrilling” (The Christian Science Monitor) novel The Other Typist comes an evocative, multilayered story of ambition, success, and secrecy in 1950s New York.
 


The Time In Between: A Novel By Maria Duenas Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781451616897
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - July 10th, 2012

The inspiring international bestseller of a seemingly ordinary woman who uses her talent and courage to transform herself first into a prestigious couturier and then into an undercover agent for the Allies during World War II.

Between youth and adulthood...

At age twelve, Sira Quiroga sweeps the atelier floors where her single mother works as a seamstress.


The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel By Jennifer Ryan Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101906774
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - September 5th, 2017

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • “A delightful debut.”—People 
 
For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.


Circling the Sun: A Novel By Paula McLain Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345534200
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - May 31st, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR, BOOKPAGE, AND SHELF AWARENESS  “Paula McLain is considered the new star of historical fiction, and for good reason. Fans of The Paris Wife will be captivated by Circling the Sun, which . . .


The Swans of Fifth Avenue: A Novel By Melanie Benjamin Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345528704
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bantam - October 25th, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The author of The Aviator’s Wife returns with a triumphant new novel about New York’s “Swans” of the 1950s—and the scandalous, headline-making, and enthralling friendship between literary legend Truman Capote and peerless socialite Babe Paley.


Major Pettigrew's Last Stand: A Novel By Helen Simonson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812981223
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - November 30th, 2010

Written with a delightfully dry sense of humour and the wisdom of a born storyteller, Major Pettigrew's Last Stand explores the risks one takes when pursuing happiness in the face of family obligation and tradition.


Maisie Dobbs By Jacqueline Winspear Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616954079
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - June 3rd, 2014

"A female investigator every bit as brainy and battle-hardened as Lisbeth Salander."
—Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air, on Maisie Dobbs


To Die but Once: A Maisie Dobbs Novel By Jacqueline Winspear Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062436641
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - February 26th, 2019

Finalist for the Inaugural Sue Grafton Memorial Award

Maisie Dobbs—one of the most complex and admirable characters in contemporary fiction (Richmond Times Dispatch)—faces danger and intrigue on the home front during World War II.


What Would Maisie Do?: Inspiration from the Pages of Maisie Dobbs By Jacqueline Winspear Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062859341
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - March 26th, 2019

A one-of-a-kind illustrated companion to the best-selling Maisie Dobbs series, which invites readers into the beloved heroine’s world—and shares her wisdom and inspiration.


Rules of Civility: A Novel By Amor Towles Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143121169
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - June 26th, 2012

From the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Lincoln Highway and A Gentleman in Moscow, a “sharply stylish” (Boston Globe) book about a young woman in post-Depression era New York who suddenly finds herself thrust into high society—now with over one million readers worldwide


The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls By Anton DiSclafani Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594632709
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 3rd, 2014

“Emotionally engaging... [A] romantic page-turner.” —Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
 
“A sexy, suspenseful, gorgeously written book.” Curtis Sittenfeld, author of Prep
 


The Aviator's Wife: A Novel By Melanie Benjamin Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345528681
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bantam - November 26th, 2013

In the spirit of Loving Frank and The Paris Wife, acclaimed novelist Melanie Benjamin pulls back the curtain on the marriage of one of America’s most extraordinary couples: Charles Lindbergh and Anne Morrow Lindbergh.
 
“The history [is] exhilarating. . . . The Aviator’s Wife soars.”USA Today
 


Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe By Dawn Tripp Cover Image
$17.00
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780812981865
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - January 17th, 2017

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan’s Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O’Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist.

This is not a love story. If it were, we would have the same story. But he has his, and I have mine.


The Summer Before the War: A Novel By Helen Simonson Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812983203
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - February 21st, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A novel to cure your Downton Abbey withdrawal . . . a delightful story about nontraditional romantic relationships, class snobbery and the everybody-knows-everybody complications of living in a small community.”—The Washington Post


Three-Martini Lunch By Suzanne Rindell Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399574771
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 8th, 2017

From the author of the “thrilling” (The Christian Science Monitor) novel The Other Typist comes an evocative, multilayered story of ambition, success, and secrecy in 1950s New York.
 


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel By Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780385341004
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - May 5th, 2009

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A NETFLIX FILM • A remarkable tale of the island of Guernsey during the German Occupation, and of a society as extraordinary as its name.

“Treat yourself to this book, please—I can’t recommend it highly enough.”—Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love


Radio Girls By Sarah-Jane Stratford Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780451475565
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - June 14th, 2016

The Great War is over, and change is in the air, in this novel that brings to life the exciting days of early British radio…and one woman who finds her voice while working alongside the brilliant women and men of the BBC.
 


Major Pettigrew's Last Stand: A Novel By Helen Simonson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812981223
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - November 30th, 2010

Written with a delightfully dry sense of humour and the wisdom of a born storyteller, Major Pettigrew's Last Stand explores the risks one takes when pursuing happiness in the face of family obligation and tradition.


Tasa's Song By Linda Kass Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781631520648
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: She Writes Press - May 3rd, 2016

An extraordinary novel inspired by true events.
1943. Tasa Rosinski and five relatives, all Jewish, escape their rural village in eastern Poland--avoiding certain death--and find refuge in a bunker beneath a barn built by their longtime employee.