Linda's Picks

Check out some of Linda's favorite books below!

Magpie Murders: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062645227
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - June 6th, 2017

"Magpie Murders is a double puzzle for puzzle fans, who don’t often get the classicism they want from contemporary thrillers." --Janet Maslin, The New York Times

*A New York Times bestseller

*#1 Indie Next Pick

*NPR best book of 2017


The Paris Spy: A Maggie Hope Mystery Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780399593802
Availability: Special Order
Published: Bantam - August 8th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • American-born spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope secretly navigates Nazi-occupied France to find two brave women during the darkest days of World War II in the latest novel in this bestselling series—“a treat for WWII buffs and mystery lovers alike” (Booklist, on The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent).


In This Grave Hour: A Maisie Dobbs Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780062436603
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Harper - March 14th, 2017

"A female investigator every bit as brainy and battle-hardened as Lisbeth Salander."  Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air, on Maisie Dobbs


Earthly Remains (Commissario Guido Brunetti Mystery) Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802126474
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - April 4th, 2017

Donna Leon's bestselling mystery novels set in Venice have won a multitude of fans for their insider's portrayal of La Serenissima. From family meals to coffee bars, and from vaporetti rides to the homes and apartments of Venetians, the details and rhythms of everyday life are an integral part of this beloved series.


Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250113320
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 17th, 2017

NOW A NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER

“Transporting…witty, poignant and sparkling.”
People (People Picks Book of the Week)

“Prescient and quick....A perfect fusing of subject and writer, idea and ideal.”
Chicago Tribune


Three-Martini Lunch Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780399574771
Availability: Backordered
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 8th, 2017

From the author of the “thrilling” (The Christian Science Monitor) novel The Other Typist comes an evocative, multilayered story of ambition, success, and secrecy in 1950s New York.
 


The Time In Between: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781451616897
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - July 10th, 2012

The inspiring international bestseller of a seemingly ordinary woman who uses her talent and courage to transform herself first into a prestigious couturier and then into an undercover agent for the Allies during World War II.

Between Youth and Adulthood…

At age twelve, Sira Quiroga sweeps the atelier floors where her single mother works as a seamstress.


The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101906774
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Broadway Books - September 5th, 2017

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • “A delightful debut.”—People 
 
For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.


Circling the Sun: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345534200
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - May 31st, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR, BOOKPAGE, AND SHELF AWARENESS  “Paula McLain is considered the new star of historical fiction, and for good reason. Fans of The Paris Wife will be captivated by Circling the Sun, which . . .


The Arrangement: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143128984
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - February 7th, 2017

“Absolutely dazzling.” –Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife

“Filled with food and passion...If you love historical fiction, you'll fall hard for this one.”  —Bustle.com


The Swans of Fifth Avenue: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345528704
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bantam - October 25th, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The author of The Aviator’s Wife returns with a triumphant new novel about New York’s “Swans” of the 1950s—and the scandalous, headline-making, and enthralling friendship between literary legend Truman Capote and peerless socialite Babe Paley.


Major Pettigrew's Last Stand: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812981223
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - November 30th, 2010

In the small village of Edgecombe St. Mary in the English countryside lives Major Ernest Pettigrew (retired), the unlikely hero of Helen Simonson’s wondrous debut. Wry, courtly, opinionated, and completely endearing, the Major leads a quiet life valuing the proper things that Englishmen have lived by for generations: honor, duty, decorum, and a properly brewed cup of tea.


Maisie Dobbs Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780142004333
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Penguin Books - May 25th, 2004

Hailed by NPR's Fresh Air as part Testament of Youth, part Dorothy Sayers, and part Upstairs, Downstairs, this astonishing debut has already won fans from coast to coast and is poised to add Maisie Dobbs to the ranks of literature's favorite sleuths.

Maisie Dobbs isn't just any young housemaid.


Rules of Civility: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143121169
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - June 26th, 2012

From the New York Times-bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow, a “sharply stylish” (Boston Globe) novel of a young woman in post-Depression era New York who suddenly finds herself thrust into high society—now with over one million readers worldwide


The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594632709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - June 3rd, 2014

“Emotionally engaging... [A] romantic page-turner.” —Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
 
“A sexy, suspenseful, gorgeously written book.” Curtis Sittenfeld, author of Prep
 


The Aviator's Wife: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345528681
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bantam - November 26th, 2013

In the spirit of Loving Frank and The Paris Wife, acclaimed novelist Melanie Benjamin pulls back the curtain on the marriage of one of America’s most extraordinary couples: Charles Lindbergh and Anne Morrow Lindbergh.
 
“The history [is] exhilarating. . . . The Aviator’s Wife soars.”USA Today
 


Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812981865
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - January 17th, 2017

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan’s Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O’Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist.

This is not a love story. If it were, we would have the same story. But he has his, and I have mine.


The Summer Before the War: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812983203
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - February 21st, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A novel to cure your Downton Abbey withdrawal . . . a delightful story about nontraditional romantic relationships, class snobbery and the everybody-knows-everybody complications of living in a small community.”—The Washington Post


Radio Girls Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780451475565
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - June 14th, 2016

The Great War is over, and change is in the air, in this novel that brings to life the exciting days of early British radio…and one woman who finds her voice while working alongside the brilliant women and men of the BBC.
 


Major Pettigrew's Last Stand: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812981223
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - November 30th, 2010

In the small village of Edgecombe St. Mary in the English countryside lives Major Ernest Pettigrew (retired), the unlikely hero of Helen Simonson’s wondrous debut. Wry, courtly, opinionated, and completely endearing, the Major leads a quiet life valuing the proper things that Englishmen have lived by for generations: honor, duty, decorum, and a properly brewed cup of tea.


Tasa's Song Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781631520648
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: She Writes Press - May 3rd, 2016

An extraordinary novel inspired by true events.
1943. Tasa Rosinski and five relatives, all Jewish, escape their rural village in eastern Poland--avoiding certain death--and find refuge in a bunker beneath a barn built by their longtime employee.


 
 
 

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.
 

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.