Since She's Been Gone: A Novel (Hardcover)

Since She's Been Gone: A Novel By Sagit Schwartz Cover Image

Since She's Been Gone: A Novel (Hardcover)

$29.99


On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Feb 24 6:43am
(MYSTERY)
An emotionally charged, dual-timeline suspense set between LA and NYC, this debut novel is perfect for fans of The Last Thing He Told Me and Luckiest Girl Alive.

A clinical psychologist is thrown into her dark past as she races to uncover the truth about her mother's death while struggling with her own mental health.


Can we ever truly know the people we love?

Losing her mother to a hit-and-run at age 15 threw Beatrice “Beans” Bennett’s life into turmoil. Bereft, she developed a life-threatening eating disorder, and went through a challenging recovery process which paved the way for her work as a clinical psychologist decades later. 

When a new patient arrives at her office and insists that Beans’s mother is still alive—and in danger—Beans is forced to revisit her past in order to uncover the truth. She learns the “patient” is a member of a notorious family that owns a drug company largely responsible for the national opioid epidemic, and that her mother was once tangled in their web. In a race against time—and her mother’s assailants—while once again facing the disorder she thought she’d put behind her, Beans discovers that, like herself, her mother had a devastating secret. 

With its fast-moving, edge-of-your-seat action and intimate look at mental health, Since She’s Been Gone will keep readers in its grasp long after the last page.
Sagit Schwartz is a writer, producer, and licensed psychotherapist. Her work has been featured in Medium, Slate, The Atlantic, Reddit NoSleep, and Lifetime Television. She resides with her husband, daughter, and rescue dog in a Southern California beach town.
Product Details ISBN: 9781639106271
ISBN-10: 1639106278
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: February 6th, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English
Praise for Since She’s Been Gone:
“Schwartz imbues every page of her debut novel with a sense of purpose and catharsis.”
Booklist

“An intense, psychological thriller, that starts off fast, and never lets up.”
Red Carpet Crash

Since She's Been Gone is a fast-paced, timely thriller that sets itself apart with its nuanced, informed view of eating disorders.” 
—Laura Lippman, New York Times bestselling author of Lady in the Lake

“Sagit Schwartz's thrilling, twisty debut beautifully explores recovery, redemption, and the everlasting bond between mother and daughter.” 
—Lara Prescott, New York Times bestselling author of The Secrets We Kept

“A pacy, emotionally resonant thriller that also explores the painful realities of eating disorders with empathy and authenticity. This is a terrific debut from an author to watch!”
—Marissa Stapley, New York Times bestselling author of Lucky

"Emotionally charged, fast-paced, and suspenseful, Sagit Schwartz’s page-turning debut Since She's Been Gone not only questions if we ever truly know those we love, but also our own actions once we discover hidden truths. Schwartz’s twists and turns don’t let up. This is a propulsive, unputdownable debut." 
—Lisa Barr, New York Times bestselling author of Woman on Fire

“A deeply heartfelt and thrilling book with a totally inventive take on eating disorders woven into a fabulous mystery.”
—Zibby Owens, award-winning podcaster and author of Bookends

“A stunning debut! Longtime therapist and first-time author Sagit Maier-Schwartz delights with this unique thriller about a woman fighting slippery inner demons and powerful coldblooded enemies to uncover what really happened to her mother twenty-five years ago.”
—Matt Witten, bestselling author of Killer Story
 
“A masterfully plotted thriller that hooked me from page one. I couldn't turn the pages quickly enough! It was so twisty and original. What an impressive debut! Sagit Schwartz will instantly become a must-read author for thriller fans.” 
—J.L. Hyde, bestselling author of Delta County

Since She’s Been Gone pulled me in from the first page. The twists of Beatrice’s journey were both unexpected and galvanizing; I really rooted for her success. If you or someone you know has been affected by an eating disorder, this page-turner will give you hope and determination to face whatever life throws at you.”
—Brendan Slocumb, bestselling author of The Violin Conspiracy and Symphony of Secrets

“It’s been a long time since I fell so hard for a character as I did for Beatrice “Beans” Bennett. I worried so much about the vulnerable teenage Beans, and then, the adult woman struggling with the same veritable demon, ED. The menacing voice of this eating disorder is as scary as the assassins at Bean's heels as she searches for her missing mother. Sagit Schwarz’s debut novel Since She's Been Gone is a remarkable debut. Intense, engrossing, and enthralling.”
—Marcy Dermansky, author of Hurricane Girl